Russian-Armenian University
Russian-Armenian (Slavonic) University (RAU) is a unique institution in the South Caucasus region being under the joint authority of the Russian Federation and the Republic of Armenia. The university recruited its first students in February 1999, for Law, Public and Municipal Administration and Journalism. Since then the University has been constantly growing and encompassing new branches of learning and research. Starting from 2002 scientific centers, institutions and problem research groups have been developing within the university. In the same year RAU offered its first post-graduate course to the students. On April 29, 2005 RAU was accredited by the Ministry of Education of the Russian Federation. Today RAU offers a wide range of undergraduate and postgraduate programs. There are 11 divisions (schools) and 32 academic departments at RAU. The university offers training in almost all branches of modern science and humanities for both baccalaureate (4 years) and master’s (2 years) degree. Graduates have an opportunity to continue education either in Russia or in other countries. Since November 1, 2001 the university is governed by Former Prime-Minister of the Republic of Armenia, Doctor of Economic Sciences, Member of the Russian Academy of Natural Sciences and the National Academy of Sciences of Armenia, Professor Armen Darbinyan.